The Shire recognises that young people are important and valued members of the community and actively seeks youth perspectives and opinions across all Shire services and programs.  We aim to take a targeted approach through the Strengthing Youth Plan 2018-22 in implementing best practice youth related events and initiatives.

Youth events and the Youth Advisory Council (YAC)

The Shire has been engaging local youth through a Youth Advisory Council (YAC) model since 1993. The purpose of YAC is to provide a space for young people to have a say in issues that impact them, as well as help coordinate activities and programs for young people following an Asset Based Community Development model.

To stay in the loop of YAC activities, keep an eye on or add the Youth Advisory Council on Facebook! If you've got an idea for YAC, please contact the Community Development Trainee on

Important links:

‚ÄčCommunity Development Trainee

Since its inception in 2003, the annual Community Development Trainee has been a strength for all youth in Shire. The 12 month scholarship is awarded each calendar year to an outstanding locally based Year 12 graduating student. Candidates should have an interest in community development, with intentions to progress onto tertiary studies, and who is willing to undertake gap year employment with the Shire.

The position provides valuable life and work experience, and allows the recipient to meet Tertiary Study related Commonwealth Youth Allowance requirements the following year. The Trainee completes an apprenticeship diploma qualidation during their year of employment with the Shire. Overall, the Trainee is able to contribute to positive outcomes across youth, access and inclusion, community capacity building, community safety, and arts and culture.

Previous participants of the program are Naomi Godden (2003), Roxanne Moore (2004), Simon O’Leary (2005), Keely Robertson (2006), Natasha Dixon (2007), Moana Lutton (2008), Connor McLeod (2009), Amy Burgess (2010),  Ella Sleegers(2012), Jake Graebener-Bond (2013),  Emma Godridge (2014), Molly Ryan (2015), Georgina Wilkie (2016), Callum Noone (2017), and Ladriel Hackett is the 2018 Bursary.

Community Newsletter

Subscribe to our monthly email newsletter for updates regarding events, changes and general happenings within your community.

Back to top ↑

Contact the Shire

Postal Address

PO Box 61
Margaret River WA 6285

Margaret River

41 Wallcliffe Road
Monday to Friday
Ph 08 9780 5255
Fax 08 9757 2512


66 Allnut Terrace
Monday to Friday
9am-12pm, 1pm-4pm
Ph 08 9780 5255


For contact details for fire, police, bushfire brigades, hospitals, storm damage, power outages, etc please see the emergency contact page

National Relay Service

If you are deaf or have a hearing or speech impairment call us through the National Relay Service

Change of details form

To ensure that you receive your Rates Notice on time we need to be updated on changes. You can do this online.